Starbucks and Target

It might seem a bit strange to find a post on a rural blog with “Starbucks” in the title so let me explain.  During seminary I just knew that God would provide an adequate sized suburban church with a more than adequate salary that was providentially positioned within walking distance to a Starbucks.  My wife, although she would never admit it, was throwing up the same geographic Hail Mary in hopes of a local Target store.  Since God knows what we need, often contrary to what we want, He placed us within 2 hours of a tall espresso mocha.  We were reluctant in our obedience to God to come here b/c we didn’t want to give up those things that we believed were necessary to basic human survival.  We have come to realize over the past 3 1/2 years that we didn’t know what we were missing.  I would trade Starbucks and Target in a heartbeat to the new conveniences that we have found.  I am providentially located to the finest fishing pond in the country and actually have the time to fish.  I walk to the local post office where the woman behind the counter knows my name.  I can order the “usual” at our local store and restaurant and Connie will put banana peppers, onions, green peppers, bacon, and mushrooms on my pizza.  Today I have to drive to Nashville for a series of meetings.  I can honestly say that by the end of the day I will be looking forward to driving back to a place where a star buck could be hanging proudly above someones mantle.         

Published in: on January 8, 2008 at 2:42 pm  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. At it the truth, “preacher”! Every week when I leave “the Grove” and drive to Nashville to work…I feel a sense of regret that I make the journey each week. However…on the drive home, I began to get excited knowing that I’ll be back in the community soon! I miss the Lion’s Club, I miss WMU, I miss Wednesday night prayer meeting, I miss hearing my husband as he responds to a local fire….but..throughout it all, I know I’m in everyone’s thoughts and prayers during the week, as you all are in mine…just when I start feeling “lonesome” in the city…I recieve an email from Joey Thompson telling me how much she misses me….

  2. Helen,
    You rock. We miss you when you’re gone.


Comments are closed.

