A Little History Please!

november182007-033.jpg

This is Sue.  She is holding my eldest daughter.  She also holds a wealth of information about this place God called my family to four years ago.  Where does a pastor go to gather information when he moves to a place like Cottage Grove?  There is no library.  There is not a museum chronicling the history of this wonderful place.  I had a million questions that I wanted to know about our church and this community when I got here, but had no place to go until I realized that Sue was housing Cottage Grove’s history just two doors up.  Until I talked to Sue, all I knew of Cottage Grove was what I saw.  What I saw was a town of 96 people who were just barely hanging on.  The community’s school had just closed the year before I arrived.  Many of the houses were in need of repair, and the one store we had closed a month after we got unpacked.  My view was bleak.  My eyes could not see what had been and what could be because all I saw was the current decline.  I needed a history lesson.  I needed Sue.  Sue was the key to unlocking this rural church story.  It is the story I will tell you in the next post.

Published in: on April 1, 2008 at 2:41 am  Comments (4)  

4 Comments

  1. I’m looking forward to your stories of the small community you are in. If you can’t be where you are happy, be happy where you are.

    Make the best of your situation. You will grow while you are there.

  2. Brother Mike, I was thrilled to see the picture of Sue and Laura and to read your recognition of Sue. Thanks for your family’s investment in Cottage Grove. And that Laura–what a cutie! Looking forward to reading more.

  3. Melody,
    We feel like Cottage Grove has invested in us far more than we have invested in them. Sue has given us far more than we will ever be able to pay back. Thank you for your comments!

  4. The history explains the present! In fact, I believe this is more true within a Church than in any other context. It is in the history that we find the resons why God might be judging the Church. It is in the history that we find why He might still be blessing the Church. It is in the history that we find the awesome providential hand of God calling, redeeming, and sanctifying a steady stream of His people, worshiping in His place, under His rule thus fulfilling that everlasting covenant he made with Abraham.

    Whenever I get discouraged, I read Gen. 12-17 and reflect on the history. God’s promises have never failed and they will not start failing now. Sola Deo Gloria!!


Comments are closed.

