My Buddy

Everyone needs a someone to call their buddy sometimes. This is our Buddy. . . really, his name is Buddy. Buddy is true blue Cottage Grove through and through. Besides being a very faithful church member for more years than most of us will be alive, he is a good neighbor and friend. WHERE would we be without our Buddy?

Buddy has come to my rescue more times than I can count. He has 87 years of experience under his belt, so he has become my 24 hour 7 day a week bank of wisdom. Where does a pastor go to find out how to tie a tire swing properly? Where does a pastor go to learn how to plant tomatoes? Where does a pastor go to find out how to endure, overcome, and stick with a project? Where does a pastor go to borrow tools? YOU GO TO BUDDY!

There are many things to like about Buddy but the thing I love about him is how he has become a mentor to my son. Mentors are so important. Mentors are hands on teachers who allow you into their world so that you can learn what they have spent a lifetime figuring out. Mentors are usually people that the pupil has great admiration and respect for. Buddy is one of those people for my son. He looks up to Buddy so much that he is willing to be taught, corrected, and even rebuked at times in order to learn what Buddy knows. Because of Buddy, my son has acquired a love for growing things. Not only does he have a desire to grow things, but the knowledge it takes to see it through from seed to harvest.

Mentors are sorely lacking in pastoral ministry these days. A young pastor needs an older pastor to teach, admonish, and even rebuke him at times. A young pastor needs to be encouraged to “stick with it” even when the ministry is tough. Young pastors need an “ata boy” at times when everything goes right. It seems, though, that we are becoming all too professional. We rely on our training. We rely on our books. We rely on the resources and even the blogs we find on the internet for inspiration and encouragement. The truth though, is that we need living breathing mentors. I can’t help but think of the way that Paul took the time to mentor Timothy. I am praying for more “Pauls” to come along side more “Timothys” for the sake of the Gospel and for the sake of the church.

Published in: on May 8, 2008 at 2:41 am  Comments (4)  

4 Comments

  1. Buddy is the best!!!!!! Such a wonderful person : kind, giving, loving, faithful, full of wisdom. I have much respect for Buddy. He always brings a smile to my face when I see him.

    I’m sure he will be a great influence for your children. He already is for most of us.

  2. Tonya,
    You and Brian are blessings to our church. I am so gald that you guys are here. My kids also love and look up to you two.

  3. I continue coming back over and again to Titus 2, and the instructions to older men and women to teach the younger Christian behavior. Mentoring is sorely lacking in our church, but by God’s grace we’ll keep moving towards it. My daughter Kate calls one of the older men (90 years old) her “buddy” and he simply LOVES it to death.

  4. […] corn’s good.  This is Buddy showing me when it’s ready to […]


Comments are closed.

