Things pastor seach committees really want to ask:

You told us that you are saved, have two Doctorates, possess 15 years of experience, and that you can preach from the Greek text….but what we really want to know is this:

1.  If your life were an Andy Griffith episode which character would you be?  Otis?  Andy?  Barney?   

2.  Felonies?

3.  Has your name ever been listed with Jimmy Swaggart or Jim Baker?

4.  How close to the poverty line are you willing to live?

5.  Finish this Sentence:  I (never, always, sometimes) preach past 12:00 p.m.

6.  We see here in your resume that you are a self starter and a multi-tasker.  Our youth, education, and    music minister just resigned. . . . how would you feel about a combo position within our church?

7.  Would you expect compensation for the above mentioned combo position? 

8.  Do you have any experience with painting, old boilers, and leaky toilets? 

9.  Have you ever refereed (moderated) a Baptist business meeting?

10.  How do you feel about mowing grass?     

Published in: on June 6, 2008 at 11:59 am  Comments (9)  

9 Comments

  1. LOL!! I had to laugh at this. My dad says that he was the pastor, music leader, and Sunday School director at his first church. This was back in the mid- to late-1950s.

    I don’t think they had a piano player either, because he said his first daughter WOULD learn to play. Lucky me! Actually I’m very thankful to know how to play! I can’t imagine not playing the piano.

    He had also been bi-vocational for most of his 30-year tenure as pastor. Sometimes it has to happen when you have a family to feed and clothe…

    I’m sure he would tell you, now, that everything was worth going through to be a servant of God and do His will. I”ll have to hook you two up. I think you’d get a kick out of him.

  2. It sounds like we have a lot in common. I’m glad you learned to play the piano too.

  3. Tonya can play the piano???

  4. When is the next game night?

  5. You know you have to get the important stuff out of the way. If you can answer all those questions with a straight face, they probably figure you would be able to preach the word, minister to the sick, teach home bible study’s, know everyone’s name and all of their family on sight, and do all this with love and little pay. After all, your treasure should be laid up in heaven not here on earth.

  6. Yes Shirley I agree. These are the important things that make a man a true pastor.

  7. Another question they will soon be asking:
    – You know Jesus mostly walked everywhere He went; how do you feel about “walking” the path of righteousness like Jesus? (Oh, we don’t want you to ride a bike. People might confuse you with those other guys!)

    🙂

  8. I have already aquired the bike. I don’t ride it with suit, tie, and name tag though.

  9. Skillet……I just realized you are Joel.


Comments are closed.

