The Rural Church Story of a Singing Cowboy

Well, besides being the worlds best cowboy vacation Bible school song singer, Stacy is Cottage Grove’s real life music minister. Really, all kidding aside (and believe me, it is hard to put all kidding aside), Stacy and his family have been a HUGE blessing to me and our church the past four years. Stacy and I work very well together. I completely trust him to lead our congregation to worship God appropriately through song. I think we compliment each other very well as we carry out our individual tasks. We are like Shaggy and Scooby, Batman and Robin, George Jones and Tammy Wynett (you pick who gets to be Tammy).

Music ministers are a dime a dozen, so just leading a choir doesn’t make you anything special. What sets Stacy apart from the pack is that he loves our church and participates on all levels of the church. He goes well beyond his job description because he is a member of our church first. . . and then a music minister. Doing everything from chaperoning youth trips to going to New Orleans on mission trips, he is fully involved and engaged in the ministries of our church.

Now, having Stacy is pretty good, but we also got his wife in the deal. Michelle has brought energy, wisdom, and hard work to our nursery ministry and our feeding ministry. She has directed our vacation bible school for the past two years and done a phenomenal job. Besides being godly leaders in our church and in their home, they are both public school teachers. In fact, I believe that they are called to teach. There are few teachers that care more than Stacy and Michelle about the kids they see everyday. Have I mentioned how blessed we are to have them? Just writing this makes me almost feel a little sorry about time my family kidnapped their pet rabbit and decorated their yard with left over Christmas decorations at Easter.

The caring and the work ethic Stacy and Michelle bring to the table is rooted deeply in the rural church. If you want to know where the passion comes from for what they do, you just need to meet their parents. Stacy’s dad is a rural church pastor and Michelle’s dad is a rural church deacon. Both men love the Lord above all and love serving him in their churches. You also need to know that Stacy’s mom and Michelle’s mom are the glue that holds the whole thing together. It is almost as if God ordered Stacy and Michelle’s lives in such a way that they would be the perfect fit at Cottage Grove. They are talented enough to serve in any church situation, but God chose to bless us with them and for that. . . I am grateful.

Published in: on June 30, 2008 at 5:02 pm  Comments (5)  

5 Comments

  1. I totally agree! They are a huge asset and an enormous blessing to our church family.

    And the boys…energy, fun and cuteness X 3!

  2. Everytime I hear the choir on Sunday I know how blessed we are.

  3. I agree with Tonya, we are blessed to have them at CGBC.

  4. Good stuff. We’re looking for a music minister right now, and I pray to God we get the kind of “fit” you guys have. Pray for us in this.

  5. I will be praying. I can’t imagine doing what we do without Stacy.


Comments are closed.

