The Ministry of the Dunk Tank!

Ahhh, the 4th of July in Cottage Grove. Parades, games, bluegrass, barbecue, greased pigs, and fireworks! Here is a sample of the best 4th celebration in all the land. The 33rd annual Cottage Grove Freedom Festival!

First, you have to get you and your five kids ready for the parade. This year we all decorated our bikes.

You also have to register your float (bike) with the local Lions Club that sponsors the parade. While we were registering at the staging area, I saw my good friend Danny.

This is me waiting for the parade to begin. There is a TON of waiting. The trick to waiting around is trying to look very cool. I think I pulled the “cool guy” look off better than James Dean.

This is all of us leaving the staging area on our way into town. Do you know how hard it is to peddle a bike at 1/2 a mile per hour?

This is my eldest showing off what he won. Yippee. . . more pets!

My youngest son also played a ton of games and brought home his weight in candy.

And here we have. . . a mess just waiting to happen.

Some people were brave enough to put their heads in a tub of water where other people’s heads had been. My germ alarm was going off so I just couldn’t do it. The apples made a nice picture though!

This is how I spent the day. Getting dunked. Don’t tell me I’m not willing to take one for the team!

Here is a very slick pig being chased by very determined kids.

Before all the noise began my wife got this picture of our church. Beautiful isn’t it? I hope your 4th was as memorable as ours.

Published in: on July 6, 2008 at 1:11 am  Comments (7)  

7 Comments

  1. Bummer! I’m sorry we missed the “33rd Annual”. We did celebrate in Athens, Alabama though. See you all on Wednesday!

  2. What a wonderful time with wonderful people. How beautiful are small communities.

    Les

  3. Tonya,

    We missed you guys too. The back yard just wasn’t the same without Brian and my guys shooting fireworks.

    Les,

    It was a great time!

  4. That looks like great fun. I do miss some parts of small town living. We now live in a city of 1.7 million people!! Our homeowners association had a paarade on Friday and Olivia won first place for her wagon decorations.

  5. Did you here that Chris Mathews is the new chair of the music department at Union? They are heading back to Jackson.

  6. Congrats to Olivia! I didn’t know that Chris was the new chair. That is wonderful for Union. 1.7 million people. That kind of makes our 96 folks seem smallish.

  7. […] rural church is generally one of the highlights on the calender.  It ranks right up there with the July 4th festival and our Vacation Bible School kick off.  Cottage Grove celebrates homecoming (anniversary day) on […]


Comments are closed.

