When Do You Know Disciples Have Been Made?

We are supposed to be making disciple, right? You can find 101 ways to evangelize and disciple people but how to you know when you have succeeded at the task? The answer to that question is a bit subjective in our “win ’em at all cost” church culture. Have we succeeded after they have moved from the “foyer” to the “living room” of your church? Do they have to sign the Baptist Faith and Message in blood? Do they have to repeat the Apostles Creed by heart? Are they “fully devoted followers of Jesus” when they begin to tithe and attend every church service? How do I know ?

Well, I’m not sure, and I don’t think we can pin point the day when someone becomes a true disciple (I tend to believe when they are truly saved), but I do think we can observe positive movement in people’s lives. Sunday morning Michael came to my office with his daughter. He had led her to Jesus the night before, and they just wanted to report it to me. My day was set in the right direction. That night (we still do Sunday night church) Cris came to me with his son Jacob. He had been leading his son to Jesus for months as Jacob would ask questions. Jacob prayed, thanking God for salvation in Jesus and asking for forgiveness, without me having to lead him BECAUSE HIS FATHER HAD TAUGHT HIM. Isn’t that fantastic.

I am so glad that Michael and Cris (both in rural settings, by the way) were saved and that both of them had become more like Christ over the years. I am so glad that God allowed me to see them both have the opportunity to pass their faith on to their kids. I don’t know at what point in their spiritual formation that they became true disciples, but I do know a little girl and a little boy that sure are glad they did.

Published in: on July 8, 2008 at 2:12 pm  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. Hallelujah!!!!!!

    I’m sorry that we missed it! But I’m glad for Godly father’s too — or I wouldn’t be a believer today.

  2. It is so good to have a mom and dad who love Jesus.


Comments are closed.

