Rural Route Heroes: Part VI

I owe two people more than I can ever repay.  They, because I am very biased, deserve Rural Route hero status (and a ton more!)  I have to start from the beginning to give you the full story so, here goes.   I was an orphan.  Yeah, the Little Orphan Annie kind of orphan.  (“Tomorrow!  Tomorrow!  I Love ya Tomorrow!”)   I spent six weeks of my life as a ward of the state.  No name.  No parents.  No identity.  Sad, huh?

At the tender age of thee months my two heroes entered my life.  They had been praying for a child, and God delivered me to them.  That’s right!  No more Little Orphan Mikey!  I now had a name.  I had two loving parents who had been praying for me. I had an identity.  I was no longer a ward of the sate.   Baby #7,342,331 (as I’m sure I was known to all) became the son of Marjorie and Douglas Waddey.

My mom and dad live in the most un-rural place you can possibly live.  They have a mall within 10 minutes of their house.  K-Mart, Home Depot, Starbucks, and at least three grocery stores make up their backyard.  So why do they deserve the Rural Route Hero treatment?  It is only by their efforts that I had any kind of up-bringing at all.  Everything I am is because they loved me, disciplined me, and demonstrated righteousness to me.  They were good stewards of the child they prayed for.  They introduced me to Jesus!  They taught me that God was good and that He had a plan for my life.  In various ways they showed me that God could be trusted with every aspect of my life.

The values they taught me play out very well in my life as a husband, father, and rural pastor.  They taught me to be truthful.  They taught me to work hard and that no job is beneath me.  They taught me that respect is earned not taken.  They taught me that all people are valuable to God.  They taught me that you get what you pay for.  They taught me that taking care of people that can’t take care of themselves is our honor.  They taught me that love is unconditional and is sometimes difficult. . . but always rewarding.  They demonstrated the Fruit of the Spirit so that I would know what “good fruit” looks like.  They taught me what perseverance looks like.  When you get knocked down (or fall off a 20 ft ladder dad) you get back up and move on.

They are my heroes today.  I wish that I had caught all that they tried to teach me.  I am still learning to implement all the lessons invested in their adopted son.  The truth of that matter is that they are still teaching me, and I still admire them.  There isn’t a day that goes by when my ministry is not enhanced by something I learned from my mother and father.    They are Rural Route Heroes.

Love you mom and dad.

Published in: on March 30, 2009 at 3:29 am  Comments (2)  

2 Comments

  1. Wow, I did not know that about you. What a wonderful story of grace and providence. How is your dad?

  2. I am glad you are no longer Little Orphan Mikey…Your parents are truly heros! What a great job they did raising you…and as a result, our little community is benefiting in ways too numerous to count. My personal thanks to your parents for their love and sacrifices. Never having had children of my own, I admire them for adopting a needed child. We love you!

    XXOOXX

    Helen


Comments are closed.

